eFMer - BoincTasks and TThrottle forum

BoincTasks For Window, Mac & Linux => Wish List => Topic started by: hucker on May 11, 2020, 05:06:26 pm

Title: Display number of CPUs not % in "use at most"
Post by: hucker on May 11, 2020, 05:06:26 pm
In extra, boinc preference, processor, "on multiprocessor systems, use at most", the number of CPUs would be easier than the percentage.  I have two machines with 24 cores each.  Converting to a percentage is a nuisance and requires me to get my calculator out!

Be aware that if this has to be converted to a percentage to give to boinc, then it should increase it slightly.  Eg if I have 3 cores and enter 66.6%, it will use only 1 core.  If I enter 66.7% it will use 2 cores.  Boinc rounds down, not up.
Title: Re: Display number of CPUs not % in "use at most"
Post by: fred on May 19, 2020, 01:55:41 am
In extra, boinc preference, processor, "on multiprocessor systems, use at most", the number of CPUs would be easier than the percentage.  I have two machines with 24 cores each.  Converting to a percentage is a nuisance and requires me to get my calculator out!

Be aware that if this has to be converted to a percentage to give to boinc, then it should increase it slightly.  Eg if I have 3 cores and enter 66.6%, it will use only 1 core.  If I enter 66.7% it will use 2 cores.  Boinc rounds down, not up.
This is a BOINC client thing, that handles it this way.
Title: Re: Display number of CPUs not % in "use at most"
Post by: hucker on May 19, 2020, 02:15:02 am
Yes, I asked them to change it and they told me to get lost.  I thought perhaps Boinctasks could translate the number into a percentage.
Title: Re: Display number of CPUs not % in "use at most"
Post by: fred on May 19, 2020, 02:33:53 am
Yes, I asked them to change it and they told me to get lost.  I thought perhaps Boinctasks could translate the number into a percentage.
It should be solved at the source, the client know everything about the machine.
Title: Re: Display number of CPUs not % in "use at most"
Post by: hucker on May 19, 2020, 12:55:29 pm
Yes, I asked them to change it and they told me to get lost.  I thought perhaps Boinctasks could translate the number into a percentage.
It should be solved at the source, the client know everything about the machine.

Well apparently the Boinc programmers think percentages are a better idea.  In case for some reason I change the CPU?!  I'd want to change the number of cores used then anyway and not keep a fixed percentage.