How does BoincTask hook into Boinc Manager to control max tasks?

Started by Keith Myers, August 28, 2017, 04:00:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keith Myers

This going to be a lengthy post. I have been fighting limited downloads for at least 6 months on the Seti project.  I have dozens of dozens of posts across the Number Crunching forum with advanced and experienced members trying to help me solve my problem of limited task downloads on all of my four crunchers.  I have tried innumerable fixes and suggestions and nothing has seemed to have an effect.  The maximum download I have ever received was a 22 task download.  More common were 14 task downloads.  While all my friends were getting downloads typically in the hundreds or at minimum 50 tasks at a time, I always struggled to rebuild my cache after the regular Tuesday outage or when I have rescheduled tasks and should have filled an empty CPU cache of 100 tasks on first request.  I always only got typical downloads of 14 tasks at a time which meant it might be an hour at minimum to rebuild my caches.  On my fastest crunchers, I should have a minimum of 400 tasks on board at all times. Since I run one cruncher on the special linux app, I could be down 200 tasks in an hours time.

Finally today, one of my close forum friends found a PM conversation that had me change some settings in BoincTasks back in May.  He had me look at the eFMer directory and look for the file named config.xml which he said BoincTasks uses to limit the maximum tasks that are allowed.  The file was in the /Examples directory and has a default max task count set to 5000 on his machine.  I looked for mine and saw the same.  The file says that for it to be active it has to be placed next to the BoincTasks executable which is one directory up in level.  I looked for this file and did not find it.  However, I did find a file named config.xml.old and after opening it I discovered the max task setting set to 400 tasks.