Author Topic: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7  (Read 133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
    • View Profile
No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« on: June 20, 2017, 11:01:45 pm »
Hi Fred,

I have no readings for a new computer AMD Ryzen7, only value shown is the offset value in TThrottle.

all of them showing "15 Celsius".

so TT is showing 15, Eight cores / sixteen threads and looks like that only one sensor.
Quote
21 June 2017 - 00:50:53 Driver installed properly. Driver Version: 2.5 W7
21 June 2017 - 00:50:53 Driver regulator: active
21 June 2017 - 00:50:55 Program version: 7.52,64Bit
Microsoft Windows 8 Professional (build 9200), 64-bit
Language: User: 3082 (ESN), System: 3082 (ESN), Selected: 1033 (ENU) Used: 1033 (ENU)

nvidia: found 1 logical devices
nvidia: found 1 physical devices
nvidia: Temperature 65 °C, max Temperature 127 °C

nvidia: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
Vendor ID: AMD
HighestIntegerValue: 0000000D - Processor Signature: 00800F11
Misc. info: 0C100800
Feature Flags1 7ED8320B
Feature Flags2 178BFBFF

Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X Eight-Core Processor                         
Processor: Family: 17h, Model: 1, Stepping: 1
Processor: Max Case Temperature: 70.0 °C, Max Power: 0.0 W

Core Temperature: 0 °C, Raw Data: 0
This Processor has 16 cores and  1 temperature sensors.

CorsairLink showing: Package temperature 83.3 Celsius
CoreTemp 1.8.1 x64 showing: 63.0 Celsius

It would be any update for temperature readings of AMD processors??
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline tnmjr58

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 11:24:46 am »
I am also seeing the same thing with my Ryzen7 that I installed yesterday. In Farenheit TT shows 59 degrees, which is 15 degrees Celsius.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2017, 04:58:12 pm »
I am also seeing the same thing with my Ryzen7 that I installed yesterday. In Farenheit TT shows 59 degrees, which is 15 degrees Celsius.
AMD updated the datasheets a while ago, stating that the internal sensor is not intended for temperature readings.

Offline MechanoRealist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2017, 01:01:32 pm »
AMD updated the datasheets a while ago, stating that the internal sensor is not intended for temperature readings.
Does this mean we simply can't use TThrottle with Ryzen CPUs? Or could TT be made to take temperature data from other programs like Corsair Link or HWiNFO?
« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 01:03:40 pm by MechanoRealist »

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2017, 01:07:54 pm »

Does this mean we simply can't use TThrottle with Ryzen CPUs? Or could TT be made to take temperature data from other programs like Corsair Link or HWiNFO?
[/quote]
Do you get a temperature reading that moves up and down with the load?  In other words, TThrottle  give a time but the wrong one with an offset.
If you get a reading you could calibrate it.

No reading or always the same than I don't have an other option, Corsair Link or HWiNFO are too expensive to add.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 01:10:32 pm »

Does this mean we simply can't use TThrottle with Ryzen CPUs? Or could TT be made to take temperature data from other programs like Corsair Link or HWiNFO?
Do you get a temperature reading that moves up and down with the load?  In other words, TThrottle  give a time but the wrong one with an offset.
If you get a reading you could calibrate it.
Go to the expert tab and add an Temperature offset positive or negative.

No reading or always the same than I don't have an other option, Corsair Link or HWiNFO are too expensive to add.
[/quote]

Offline MechanoRealist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2017, 04:47:26 pm »
Nope, it's always stuck on 15 degrees C.
What do you mean when you say they would be too expensive?

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2017, 04:56:08 pm »
Nope, it's always stuck on 15 degrees C.
What do you mean when you say they would be too expensive?
The interface with these programs costs money.

Please go to the Logging tab in TThrottle and check "Debug" next go the to the the TThrottle icon on the taskbar and choose exit with the right mouse key.
Next wait for TThrottle to close and start TThrottle again and send me the text in the Logging window.
Let's see if that gives me the info I need to see whats' going on.

Offline MechanoRealist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2017, 05:57:04 pm »
I sent you the Debug log in a PM

And I think you might be wrong at least as far as HWiNFO goes.
TThrottle should be eligible for Shared Memory Support: https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-Shared-Memory-Support
 :D

Note: This is not the same as buying access to their SDK library.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 06:05:07 pm by MechanoRealist »

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2017, 09:43:36 am »
I sent you the Debug log in a PM

And I think you might be wrong at least as far as HWiNFO goes.
TThrottle should be eligible for Shared Memory Support: https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/Thread-Shared-Memory-Support
 :D

Note: This is not the same as buying access to their SDK library.
That is something I missed, sending an email to hwinfo now.....

The issue right now is that AMD didn't release a BIOS and Kernel Developer’s Guide Family 17h yet so right now it's not possible to implement.
And hopefully they they didn't make any changes that the current driver can't handle otherwise it may be impossible.


Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2017, 12:17:13 pm »
Right now I'm working on integrating HWiNFO, so it should be included in the next version (soon).

Offline MechanoRealist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2017, 10:42:44 am »
Wow! Thanks for being reasonable and awesome!  ;D
(it's sadly something that's in short supply on the interwebs today)

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: No proper readings for AMD Ryzen7
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2017, 10:28:17 am »
Version 7.70 supports HWiNFO and GPU-Z https://efmer.com/download-throttle-beta/
In TThrottle press F1 for the manual.