News:

Follow BoincTasks on Twitter Facebook        Visit our website here.
BoincTasks cloud login is working again

Main Menu

Athlon 64

Started by goyta, November 01, 2009, 11:07:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

goyta

I have a 4-year-old PC with a good old single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ "Venice". Unfortunately, I had the bad luck of getting a processor unit that tends to overheat, and living in a subtropical area without climatisation doesn't help much. I used to be a BOINC user too, but I had to give up in part because of overheating (the other reason couldn't be solved: BOINC steals idle time from Diskeeper and doesn't let it do its background defragging).

So, a CPU temperature monitor *with* throttling capabilities is essential for me, if I don't want to run the risk of having the CPU melt. I had been using NextSensor successfully for a couple of years on Windows XP and on 32-bit Windows 7 Release Candidate, but now I've switched to 64-bit final Windows 7, and NextSensor doesn't have a 64-bit version.

TThrottle 1.70 appears to be showing a differential temperature to a baseline which I don't know what is. Under low activity, the displayed temperature is in the 5-10°C range; under higher activity, 15-25°C. The latter temperature range is the current room temperature here (São Paulo, Brazil), and the processor is obviously much hotter. NextSensor used to show it in the 40s Celsius under low activity, up to 55°C on a hot day (25-30°C room temperature), and in the 60s when doing something heavier. NextSensor used to be configured to throttle down the CPU when temperature reached 68°C, since the safe limit for my processor is either 70 or 71°C (according to different sources), and it often reached that temperature when testing RAR archives, converting videos, encrypting files, performing antivirus scans, etc.