Author Topic: eFMer Priority  (Read 14124 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beyond

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
Re: eFMer Priority
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2011, 12:11:53 am »
Added V 1.2:

Process: Idle -- Thread: Idle
Process: Below normal -- Thread: Lowest
There is no Lowest setting for a process, only for the thread.
Some program call idle -> lowest
For testing I use Process Explorer.
I'm still having issues.  If I set eFMer Priority to normal for the dnetc*.exe in Moo! Wrapper the GPU usage stays unchanged at around 70%.  Process priority still says low in Task Manager.  If I set the process priority to normal in Task Manager the GPU usage jumps to an average of about 95%.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: eFMer Priority
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2011, 08:23:44 am »
I'm still having issues.  If I set eFMer Priority to normal for the dnetc*.exe in Moo! Wrapper the GPU usage stays unchanged at around 70%.  Process priority still says low in Task Manager.  If I set the process priority to normal in Task Manager the GPU usage jumps to an average of about 95%.
A wrapper?
Priority only changes the process not the child processes.
When you use a wrapper, you may have to add the underlying exe.
Try using something more sophisticated than the Tasks Manager: procexp.exe = ProcessExplorer.

Offline wicked

  • Active Member
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: eFMer Priority
« Reply #17 on: June 17, 2011, 06:29:46 am »
I'm still having issues.  If I set eFMer Priority to normal for the dnetc*.exe in Moo! Wrapper the GPU usage stays unchanged at around 70%.  Process priority still says low in Task Manager.  If I set the process priority to normal in Task Manager the GPU usage jumps to an average of about 95%.

Both the wrapper and the child process (dnet client) set their own process and thread priorities (during startup), which should be correct for them. Dnet client will always use low process priority but bumps it's thread priorities up according to internal logic.

If you are still having problems with getting your GPU up to full speed, you might want to try changing priority in the dnet client config (you will need to use anonymous platform to safely edit the config file) and see if that helps.. It is set to 4 by default, which is what is recommended on Windows to keep GPU fully loaded.