Author Topic: BT 1.29  (Read 4735 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
BT 1.29
« on: December 05, 2011, 01:29:24 pm »
Threads graph - if both actual values and average is displayed, the average line is much thinner and often not visible behind the (much more dense) values. Could the average be thick and values thin?

Tasks graph: I've sometimes noticed, that I can select a few projects and see their tasks graphs, but as soon as I select any of a few other projects, all graphs disappear. No matter whether Combine projects is selected. (This is when the "Over a period of:" (= Timespan) checkbox is deselected, i.e. "All times" data.)
If I select the Timespan and play with the days, I can find a borderline - with less days, all is fine, with more days, all graphs suddenly disappear.

With other words: I can select even a 190 day Timespan. After selecting a few (or all) projects (from a group of 11 "good" projects), their tasks are displayed in graphs, for 7.10.-6.12.2011. Selecting any of the remaining 6 projects (e.g. SETI@home) causes all graphs to disappear (and the graph baseline gets 6.10.-6.12.2011). But after lowering the Timespan to 60 days, the graphs get displayed again (and the graph baseline gets 7.10.-6.12.2011). Then I select one more project (form the "bad" ones - Rosetta), graphs disappear (and the graph baseline gets 6.10.-6.12.2011). After lowering the Timespan to 59 days, the graphs get displayed again (and the graph baseline gets 7.10.-6.12.2011). Now after selecting any (or all) from the remaining "bad" ones, all graphs remain correctly displayed.

(I remember there was already a similar bug in the far past, with Credit Graphs disappearing this way.)

Project rank column - what is the second number? What about right-aligning the ranks? ;)

Find computers - the range is assumed according to the mask? What about environments with huge masks :o and trying to scan just a small known range (like 50 IP's)?
Peter

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2011, 01:39:35 pm »
Threads graph - if both actual values and average is displayed, the average line is much thinner and often not visible behind the (much more dense) values. Could the average be thick and values thin?
Check average to get a thicker line.
I will check the Tasks Graph.
The find mask is gone, because users enter an end address... :-X
I will right align the columns.
Anyhow it just scans everything in mask 255, it takes just as long to check 1 as it takes to check 254. Most of them return at once, as no socket can be made.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2011, 06:19:48 pm »
That's probably not right, let me know.  I'm using 1.29.
C:\Program Files\eFMer\BoincTasks\examples\log\log.xml
change the 0 -> 1
Copy the file to C:\Program Files\eFMer\BoincTasks\log\log.xml

Best start notebook as administrator to edit the file.
Restart BT

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
  • Master Mariner enjoining life in retirement.
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2011, 07:22:07 pm »
as sent in PM the CPU still at 100% in times, but no clue about it.

I've done the thing of un-tick and tick again one computer in tab "computer" and pointed to the Task again at it takes really long time to close the program and start it again.

but the problem persists.
Roses don't bloom on the sailor's grave

Corsair.

Offline Beyond

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2011, 09:02:42 pm »
That's probably not right, let me know.  I'm using 1.29.
C:\Program Files\eFMer\BoincTasks\examples\log\log.xml
change the 0 -> 1
Copy the file to C:\Program Files\eFMer\BoincTasks\log\log.xml
It's running now (looks like on all 9 clients), how long to leave it this way?

05 December 2011 - 14:53:23 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:23 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:23 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:23 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:24 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:24 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:24 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:24 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled
05 December 2011 - 14:53:24 Heap checking  ---- WARNING: is enabled

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2011, 06:53:11 am »
It's running now (looks like on all 9 clients), how long to leave it this way?
Until the next crash.
If you see the 100% running again....
Try all graphs, see if they still work.
Try using anything you can think off and see if it's still working.

Offline Beyond

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2011, 04:04:27 pm »
It's running now (looks like on all 9 clients), how long to leave it this way?
Until the next crash.
If you see the 100% running again....
Try all graphs, see if they still work.
Try using anything you can think off and see if it's still working.
I never had the 100% problem, that was someone else.  Had much higher usage than with 1.21 though.
Had 5 dmp files with 1.29 yesterday but so far none since doing the log changes.  Just typical :)
The CPU usage is low so far too since initiating the heap checking.

Offline Beyond

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 242
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2011, 09:47:35 pm »
It's running now (looks like on all 9 clients), how long to leave it this way?
Until the next crash.
Dmp & log files uploaded.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2011, 07:29:37 am »
Dmp & log files uploaded.
I made some changes in V 1.30, lets see it this helps. Still no clue what's causing it.
But the changes should solve it or show the problem someplace else.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.29
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2011, 11:56:13 am »

Tasks graph: I've sometimes noticed, that I can select a few projects and see their tasks graphs, but as soon as I select any of a few other projects, all graphs disappear. No matter whether Combine projects is selected. (This is when the "Over a period of:" (= Timespan) checkbox is deselected, i.e. "All times" data.)
If I select the Timespan and play with the days, I can find a borderline - with less days, all is fine, with more days, all graphs suddenly disappear.
The max time span is 1440 hours = 60 days.
I will add an extra check.