Moving WU to different computers

Started by Gandalf, July 09, 2013, 11:37:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gandalf

I know this belongs in the Wish List.  I just hope it doesn't belong in the drop dead list.

Today I had a computer running some Yoyo WUs when I noticed WCG downloading a Beta WU.  I put the active Yoyo WUs into Suspense mode to allow the WCG Beta WUs to start downloading/running.

Since I am new to Beta testing, I don't know how long the Beta test will go on.  However, an idea came to me.  What if I could relocate a WU from one computer to another.  Assume the Beta testing lasts for a week.  The deadline will undoubtedly expire on the Suspended Yoyo WUs.  Since all my computers are networked together and BoincTasks is managing all the computers BOINC work, is it possible to move suspended WUs from one computer to another?  That would elevate the deadline issue completely.

Linux Mint 14 DE: Cinnamon Operating System

fred

Quote from: Gandalf on July 09, 2013, 11:37:02 PM
I know this belongs in the Wish List.  I just hope it doesn't belong in the drop dead list.
Not possible, a wish for a lot of users. :o

Gandalf

I know it's possible via FTP.  Is this a BOINC issue?
Linux Mint 14 DE: Cinnamon Operating System

fred

Quote from: Gandalf on July 10, 2013, 02:02:43 PM
I know it's possible via FTP.  Is this a BOINC issue?
The BOINC project server doesn't allow this to happen. No way.

Pepo

Quote from: fred on July 10, 2013, 02:04:39 PM
The BOINC project server doesn't allow this to happen. No way.
The only viable transfer way I was aware of was to transfer the whole BOINC installation and let it crunch elsewhere. No way to split the WUs.
Peter

Corsair