Author Topic: BT 1.54  (Read 3626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
BT 1.54
« on: September 24, 2013, 02:39:39 pm »
Quote from: fred
Added: Computer tab MAC address column, this allows dynamic IP addresses to be used.  Use: use_mac for the IP Address and fill in the MAC address int the next column
:-\ too geeky and who would remember the magic word?
What about dropping this "use_mac" completely and use the MAC value, if the IP is empty?
Peter

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2013, 02:45:27 pm »
Quote from: fred
Added: Computer tab MAC address column, this allows dynamic IP addresses to be used.  Use: use_mac for the IP Address and fill in the MAC address int the next column
:-\ too geeky and who would remember the magic word?
What about dropping this "use_mac" completely and use the MAC value, if the IP is empty?
Maybe the empty is now reserved for the computer name = domain name.
So a blank IP should work.

It's experimental for now, if it works I will make it easier for the average user.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2013, 05:59:30 pm »
Seems to work nicely with "use_mac" :) but not at all without it.

After a few minutes of use, I've realized that notebooks often get a connection over either a cable, or WiFi. What about a comma-separated list of MAC addresses? :P
« Last Edit: September 24, 2013, 06:09:00 pm by Pepo »
Peter

Offline tlsi2000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 04:29:53 am »
New version 1.54...

on Windows XP 64 bit  v5.2 build 3790

Immediate error on start of program:

---------------------------
boinctasks64.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point ShutdownBlockReasonCreate could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
---------------------------


Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2013, 06:21:21 am »
---------------------------
boinctasks64.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point ShutdownBlockReasonCreate could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
---------------------------
OK I see, don't have XP anymore, but I will find a way around this for 1.55.
BoincTasks uses a function introduced in Vista. It is needed to shutdown more elegantly.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2013, 02:18:21 pm »
on Windows XP 64 bit  v5.2 build 3790
---------------------------
boinctasks64.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
ShutdownBlockReasonCreate could not be located in USER32.dll.
---------------------------
I assume this can be expected on 32 bit WinXP as well?
Peter

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2013, 02:20:23 pm »
I assume this can be expected on 32 bit WinXP as well?
I expect so, but the XP 64 is an odd beast. I linked in a library, that should be loaded dynamically, but not on XP.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2013, 02:25:18 pm »
I linked in a library, that should be loaded dynamically, but not on XP.
You should probably check first, whether you can load it?
Peter

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2013, 02:27:11 pm »
You should probably check first, whether you can load it?
Yep, I did add an XP check but, the docs where a bit confusing.
First check > XP  load the library.

This helps closing down more elegantly and not unexpectedly.

Offline idahofisherman

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Signature
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2013, 07:56:15 pm »
I received the same error on XP32.  How do we link the library and where do we find  it to link and where do we link it?

Offline idahofisherman

  • Active Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
    • Signature
Re: BT 1.55
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2013, 08:25:28 pm »
Saw there was a version 1.55.  downloaded it had same problem as  it downloaded 1.54.

So went back to version 1.53.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.55
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2013, 05:02:41 am »
Saw there was a version 1.55.  downloaded it had same problem as  it downloaded 1.54.

So went back to version 1.53.
Interesting 1.55 where did you find that one. :o
1.53 is the XP version for now, until 1.55 arrives with a fix.

Offline Pepo

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 875
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2013, 06:30:16 am »
Saw there was a version 1.55.  downloaded it ...
Interesting 1.55 where did you find that one. :o
Maybe the usual download path pattern?  ???
Peter

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2013, 06:31:52 am »
Maybe the usual download path pattern?  ???
[/quote]
I made a typing error :o
The XP problem is fixed.  ;D The function now loads only when needed.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.54
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2013, 07:29:45 am »
Now I need some XP testers, to see if the fix works: download 1.55