Author Topic: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip  (Read 2398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi

I have just installed the latest version on a new machine (Win 7 64 bit Home Premium), the install seemed to complete with out problem.

However, it is is reporting on only 3 cores (I would have expected to see 4 cores) and the GPU in both the Temperature and Graphic tabs, TThrottle seems to have found all cores when starting up.

Attached is the startup log, does anybody have any ideas ?

Thanks,

Dave.



03 September 2011 - 21:32:34 Driver installed properly. Driver Version: 2.3
03 September 2011 - 21:32:34 Driver regulator: active

Program version: 4.30 64Bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit

Language: User: 2057 ENG ,System: 1033 ENU

nvidia: found 1 logical devices
nvidia: found 1 physical devices
nvidia: Temperature 48 C, max Temperature 127 C

nvidia: GeForce GT 540M

Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
Vendor: INTEL
HighestIntegerValue: 0000000D - Processor Signature: 000206A7
Misc. info: 03100800
Feature Flags1 1DBAE3BF
Feature Flags2 BFEBFBFF

Processor:       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz               
Processor: Family: 6h, Model: 2A, Stepping: 7

TJunction read from CPU: 100  C, TJunction using: 100  C

Core Temperature: 74 C, Raw Data: 881A0000
88160000,88160000,88140000,88140000,88160000,88160000,881a0000,881a0000,
88160000,88160000,88160000,88160000,88160000,88160000,88160000,88160000,
0123456777777777
This Processor has 8 cores and  2 temperature sensors.

BOINC:
boinc01.cern.ch_test4theory
www.worldcommunitygrid.org

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3331
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2011, 08:38:59 am »
I have just installed the latest version on a new machine (Win 7 64 bit Home Premium), the install seemed to complete with out problem.
Start the program regedit and go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\eFMer\TThrottle64\calibration
Tell me what you see core_delta 2 cores 8.
Close TThrottle and change them to the values above. A delta of 2 should give 2 cores.
But it looks like two cores share the same temperature sensor.  So a delta of 4 may also be right.

You can remove the whole calibration folder and start TThrottle again an see it it finds some more sensors.

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2011, 02:56:44 pm »
Hi

Many thanks for you reply.

Current reg. entries showed core_delta 3 and cores 8.

I rechecked the INTEL web site and the i7-2630QM is a 4 processor / 8 thread model but at this time I could not find mention of the number of temp. sensors.

When changing the core_ delta to 4, TThrottle reports now shows 2 cores + GPU and changing to it to 2, it now shows 4 cores (none of them identical) + GPU.

Your suggestion of deleting the calibration folder and allowing TThrottle to recheck the chip again produced a core_ delta set to 3.

Thanks,

Dave.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3331
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2011, 03:26:18 pm »
Your suggestion of deleting the calibration folder and allowing TThrottle to recheck the chip again produced a core_ delta set to 3.
I will check that, because 3 isn't a valid number at all.

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2011, 11:03:34 pm »
Hi

Some further info. for you, I thought I would reset the BIOS to set Hyperthreading off and this time TThrottle correctly found the following - core_delta 1 and cores 4.

Thanks,

Dave.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3331
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2011, 07:11:30 am »
Some further info. for you, I thought I would reset the BIOS to set Hyperthreading off and this time TThrottle correctly found the following - core_delta 1 and cores 4.
I will prepare a new text version, if you want to try that one, great. ;D

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2011, 03:13:07 pm »
Quote
I will prepare a new text version, if you want to try that one, great.

Hi

Sure, that is not a problem, just give me instructions on what I need to do when it is ready.

Thanks,

Dave.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3331
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2011, 07:34:29 am »
Sure, that is not a problem, just give me instructions on what I need to do when it is ready.
Go to  C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\eFMer\TThrottle\log
Remove all logs file if there are any.

Install version 5.10 http://www.efmer.eu/boinc/download_beta.html

Go to the expert tab and press Re-calibrate.
Wait for the calibration to complete and look in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\eFMer\TThrottle\log.

The *.log file can be opened as a text file.

Email me everthing from: (email address can be found in the log tab, or in about).
Callibration, Start
to
Callibration, End

If possible with HT on and off. ;D

To all other users, you may send me a log as well, the more the better.

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2011, 02:21:32 pm »
Hi

email sent with requested info.

Dave.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3331
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2011, 05:08:14 pm »
V 5.10 works ok.
A small problem remains, there are some "ghost" temperatures, right after calibration.
Restarting TThrottle solves this problem.
So the next version should restart automatically.

Offline ag014400

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Not all cores being reprorted with rel. 4.30 running on a i7-2630QM chip
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2011, 09:36:23 pm »
Hi

Thank you very much for your prompt attention and resolution of the problem.

Dave.