Author Topic: AMD card testing  (Read 15158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2009, 04:35:55 pm »
There is very little or no info on the GPU in this log...
You can only add links to pictures. Otherwise my board space is very soon..... gone. ;D

This one checks if the temperature is valid.
http://www.efmer.eu/download/boinc/test/TThrottle_1_6_2_4_3.zip

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2009, 04:41:55 pm »
Here's what I see for my card.

AMD ATI:
AMD test loggingTry to load Library: atiadlxx.dll
Dll loaded
NULL != ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get
Number of adapters: 2
NULL != ADL_Adapter_AdapterInfo_Get
AdapterActive: 0
Amd/Ati: found 1 devices
Amd/Ati: ATI Radeon X1200 Series  P
22 June 2009 - 10:02:30 AdapterInfo: 0, AdapterIndex: 0, ATI Radeon X1200 Series
Pos: 0, Temperature: 0
It may be that there is no sensor in this chip try the TThrottle_1_6_2_4_3.zip version to see if the value is valid.

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2009, 06:22:05 pm »
Here are the Logs:

I'll send in separate email the reading with HWmonitor to the email address.

ATI Radeon Xpress 2000, driver version 9.3 (latest for old models)
windows xp pro sp3 x86

AMD ATI:
AMD test loggingTry to load Library: atiadlxx.dll
Dll loaded
NULL != ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get
Number of adapters: 2
NULL != ADL_Adapter_AdapterInfo_Get
AdapterActive: 0
Amd/Ati: found 1 devices
Amd/Ati: ATI MOBILITY RADEON XPRESS 200 P
22 June 2009 - 20:01:06 No temperature sensor found.
Pos: 0, Temperature: 2088803480


ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series, driver version 9.6
windows xp pro sp2 x64 (AMD64)

AMD ATI:
AMD test loggingTry to load Library: atiadlxx.dll
Dll loaded
NULL != ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get
Number of adapters: 2
NULL != ADL_Adapter_AdapterInfo_Get
AdapterActive: 0
Amd/Ati: found 1 devices
Amd/Ati: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series  P
22 June 2009 - 20:06:27 AdapterInfo: 0, AdapterIndex: 0, ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
Pos: 0, Temperature: 54000
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2009, 06:48:38 pm »
Amd/Ati: ATI MOBILITY RADEON XPRESS 200 P
22 June 2009 - 20:01:06 No temperature sensor found.
Pos: 0, Temperature: 2088803480

ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series, driver version 9.6
windows xp pro sp2 x64 (AMD64)

22 June 2009 - 20:06:27 AdapterInfo: 0, AdapterIndex: 0, ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
Pos: 0, Temperature: 54000

What I expected the first one does not report the temperature to the driver. Maybe because there is not separate fan for the GPU.
The second one reports ok.
I will integrate the AMD readings into the program, so it will work exactly like the NVidia one.

The only thing that is very strange... the atiadlxx.dll should be on the 32 bit system and atiadlxy.dll should be on the 64 bit system.
But they both seem to use the atiadlxx.dll (32 bit version).
Can you check both files. On which system they are.

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #19 on: June 22, 2009, 07:29:17 pm »
What I expected the first one does not report the temperature to the driver. Maybe because there is not separate fan for the GPU.
The second one reports ok.
I will integrate the AMD readings into the program, so it will work exactly like the NVidia one.

The only thing that is very strange... the atiadlxx.dll should be on the 32 bit system and atiadlxy.dll should be on the 64 bit system.
But they both seem to use the atiadlxx.dll (32 bit version).
Can you check both files. On which system they are.
atiadlxx.dll in x86 and x64 are in the C:\windows\system32
atiadlxy.dll in x86 can't find in the x86 system.
atiadlxy.dll in x64 system is located in C:\windows\syswow64
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #20 on: June 22, 2009, 09:18:35 pm »
Hi Fred,

I'm diving in internet about monitoring Temperature in Laptops' GPUs (NVidia & ATI/AMD)
and it looks like that at least there is no sensor for the "Old" GPUs, and that AMD/ATI &
NVidia are doing new hardware with this kind of sensors for "new" GPUs, but still I don't
know which are the supported models that come with it.

 :'( :'( :'(
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline Christoph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #21 on: June 23, 2009, 01:27:28 pm »
Hello Fred,

here is my data:

AMD ATI:
Library not found

Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD

I did not yet make this machine new. Maybe the error is in my machine. Will start Backup today. I did not copy this test Version into the TThrottle folder. Is it required or not?

[edit\] May GPU is a Radeon Mobility HD 2600. Driver as per Windows 8.391.2.1000.[/edit]
« Last Edit: June 23, 2009, 01:44:24 pm by Christoph »

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #22 on: June 23, 2009, 02:30:28 pm »
Hello Fred,

here is my data:

AMD ATI:
Library not found

Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD

I did not yet make this machine new. Maybe the error is in my machine. Will start Backup today. I did not copy this test Version into the TThrottle folder. Is it required or not?

[edit\] May GPU is a Radeon Mobility HD 2600. Driver as per Windows 8.391.2.1000.[/edit]
It can run anywhere... Try a manual search for the dll's if they are anywhere on the system.
But they should be part of the regular AMD/ATI installation.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #23 on: June 23, 2009, 04:47:14 pm »
A new version:
Maybe even more changes in the NVidia part, this one supports 2 GPU systems. ;D
Should draw a graph and show the temperatures.
http://www.efmer.eu/download/boinc/test/TThrottle_1_6_2_5.zip


Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #24 on: June 24, 2009, 12:25:29 am »
Hi Fred,

here are the logs of this last version, in the laptop (x86) no chance, not sensor found.

in the desktop (x64) correct reading of temperature, and displayed in mini window after G:,
but not shown the GPU temperature in the Programs (GPU), of course as is ATI there isn't 
CUDA there is no way of setting a throttling temperature, but could be interesting that
in the box to the effect shown the read temperature.

Although this is a beta version and it has to be polished, but in ATI systems I could see the
CUDA tab. ???

ATI Radeon Xpress 2000, driver version 9.3 (latest for old models)
windows xp pro sp3 x86

Debug <<< NVidia
 >>>Debug <<< AMD_ATI
Try to load Library: atiadlxx.dll
Dll loaded
NULL != ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get
Number of adapters: 2
NULL != ADL_Adapter_AdapterInfo_Get
AdapterActive: 0
 >>>Amd/Ati: found 1 devices
Amd/Ati: ATI MOBILITY RADEON XPRESS 200 P
24 June 2009 - 02:01:09 No temperature sensor found.
Pos: 0, Temperature: 2088803480


ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series, driver version 9.6
windows xp pro sp2 x64 (AMD64)

Debug <<< NVidia
 >>>Debug <<< AMD_ATI
Try to load Library: atiadlxx.dll
Dll loaded
NULL != ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get
Number of adapters: 2
NULL != ADL_Adapter_AdapterInfo_Get
AdapterActive: 0
 >>>Amd/Ati: found 1 devices
Amd/Ati: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series  P
24 June 2009 - 02:09:26 AdapterInfo: 0, AdapterIndex: 0, ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
Pos: 0, Temperature: 55
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #25 on: June 24, 2009, 04:42:33 am »
Hi Fred,

here are the logs of this last version, in the laptop (x86) no chance, not sensor found.

in the desktop (x64) correct reading of temperature, and displayed in mini window after G:,
but not shown the GPU temperature in the Programs (GPU), of course as is ATI there isn't 
CUDA there is no way of setting a throttling temperature, but could be interesting that
in the box to the effect shown the read temperature.

Although this is a beta version and it has to be polished, but in ATI systems I could see the
CUDA tab. ???

1) Is the GPU temperature in the temperature tab?
2) Is the GPU temperature in the programs tab?
3) Do you see the CUDA tab?
4) Did you see the CUDA tab in the release version?

Offline Corsair

  • Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #26 on: June 24, 2009, 09:49:40 am »
Hi Fred,

1) Is the GPU temperature in the temperature tab?
    yes, two different (x64) but very close one each other as if it were two GPUs
2) Is the GPU temperature in the programs tab?
    no
3) Do you see the CUDA tab?
    yes, in both x86 and x64 & ATI GPUs
4) Did you see the CUDA tab in the release version?
    No (in PCs with ATI/AMD GPU).
over the sailors' grave doesn't grove grass.

Corsair.

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3601
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: AMD card testing
« Reply #27 on: June 24, 2009, 04:33:33 pm »
Hi Fred,

1) Is the GPU temperature in the temperature tab?
    yes, two different (x64) but very close one each other as if it were two GPUs
2) Is the GPU temperature in the programs tab?
    no
3) Do you see the CUDA tab?
    yes, in both x86 and x64 & ATI GPUs
4) Did you see the CUDA tab in the release version?
    No (in PCs with ATI/AMD GPU).

Ok I can work with that.
I'm working on something else now my http://www.efmer.eu/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12&Itemid=30 wallpaper changer, because I finally found a way to display the comment text of a jpeg picture.
Looks simple but it is not. So I can finally put a label to my 5000+ photo collection I use as wallpaper, to much to remember them all.... Most but not all.
That's also where the idea of the floating window came from.... ;D It's my most downloaded program.