Author Topic: BT 1.19  (Read 1871 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline coolstream

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
BT 1.19
« on: September 02, 2011, 08:01:36 pm »
Quote
Changed: Tasks view: A double click with the left Ctrl key pressed will release or set all filters on a selected filter group.
This isn't working for me.  :( CTRL key seems to be ignored because left CTRL + dbl click has the same effect as dbl click without CTRL.

BTW, is there a reason for specifying 'left' CTRL? I knew that left and right ALT can be given different functions, but never saw the same distinction with the CTRL keys (well in Windows anyway)


EDIT: added ALT and rephrased last sentence to make more sense.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 12:26:02 pm by coolstream »

Offline coolstream

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.19 BT Icon in notification area.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 09:20:04 pm »
I see that the message format of the popup has changed. Previously it gave a running total of cores e.g. 2,4,6,8 now it simply lists the cores available e.g. 2,2,2,2. Maybe it was felt that the old method was confusing.

Can I suggest that a compromise could be achieved by showing cores and total instead e.g. '2,2,2,2=8' ?

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.19 BT Icon in notification area.
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 11:20:01 am »
Can I suggest that a compromise could be achieved by showing cores and total instead e.g. '2,2,2,2=8' ?
This was a bug fix, 1.20 will show the sum.

Offline Tex1954

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2011, 11:46:04 am »
Well, I still see the funny number displays all over the place in 1.19. Like in the Projects Tab, the Credits, Avg. Credits etc...

All the numbers look like this: 2'549'425.0 instead of 2,549,425.0 and that is the sort of thing I saw in the 1.16-1.18 Preferences times and such.

Maybe an equate or define somewhere buggy boo?

Tex1954

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2011, 12:00:49 pm »
Maybe an equate or define somewhere buggy boo?
The later version uses the Windows setting for the one thousand character and decimal point.
To set the old values: Extra->BoincTasks settings->View "Decimal point and 1000 separator"  .`

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2011, 12:05:13 pm »
BTW, is there a reason for specifying 'left' CTRL? I knew that left and right historically can be given different functions, but never saw the same distinction with the CTRL keys (well in Windows anyway)
You can do this on any key. The left Ctrl key releases all filters with the same status NOT all filters.
What language is your keyboard set to?

Offline coolstream

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2011, 12:30:17 pm »
My keyboard is English (United Kingdom), but read on...

Quote
The left Ctrl key releases all filters with the same status NOT all filters.

OK I was trying to use it to work on one filtered 'Suspended by user' and one filtered 'Ready to start'. I know that when we discussed this prior to release, you said that what I was requesting would cause to heavy a load. I mistakenly took your idea to use CTRL as a method of achieving what I was requesting.

Now reading the small print 'all filters with the same status NOT all filters', I realise why it appears not to be working.

I can now *confirm* that CTRL *is* working and apologise for my misinterpretation of the function.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 12:45:15 pm by coolstream »

Offline fred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
  • eFMer
    • View Profile
    • Trails
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2011, 12:51:14 pm »
I can now *confirm* that CTRL *is* working and apologise for my misinterpretation of the function.
The problem with waiting is that the BOINC client is a bit chaotic in that respect. There are a lot of different suspend modes all in a different location.
There are users with 5000+ tasks and for every tasks BT has to check a couple of different unrelated things. It will take too much additional time.
But I keep it in mind, maybe I will find a way.

Offline coolstream

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2011, 02:09:14 pm »
Quote
There are users with 5000+ tasks and for every tasks BT has to check a couple of different unrelated things. It will take too much additional time.
That puts my request into perspective. I create templates for and work on a program called TViXiE, and when I get requests for features from users, what may appear to be a simple request can often entail a lot of background work so I fully understand what you are saying.

Offline coolstream

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • View Profile
Re: BT 1.19
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2011, 01:13:31 pm »
I looked at this again in the light of a new day and realise that the 'LEFT CTRL+dbl-click' is more powerful than I first of all realised. Let's take this scenario:

1 WU1 type is suspended and WU2 type is ready to start. Both types are filtered. I wish to micromanage these WU types to (for example) give priority to resends.

2 I had asked for a way to a quick method to unfilter both types so that I could easily see the WUs that I wished to run in priority. We already know that LEFT CTRL+dbl-click cannot open a second WU type whilst retaining the first type in an unfiltered view.

3 THIS IS MY WORKAROUND.
i   Change the suspended type to 'ready to start' (now both WU types are in the same state)
ii  LEFT CTRL+dbl-click and BOTH WU types become unfiltered
iii  Now suspend the ones you don't want to run. Your selected WUs for priority will now be in 'ready to start' state.
iv  Once you are done, LEFT CTRL+dbl click to return to filtered view.

NOTE: I have realised that if you do LEFT CTRL dbl click on WUs from another machine, those WUs too will become unfiltered. I now realise that my mistake was that I thought LEFT CTRL+dbl click was meant to be a second process. Now I realise that if you use it as an alternative to simply dbl-clicking, its true potential can be realised.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 01:17:45 pm by coolstream »